Guest post: The Real Business Advantage of “Thinking Time”


Thinking Time - Time for InnovationThis guest post is by Jane Cassell of JC Wills and Probate and I think with the start of 2014 not far off this thought-provoking piece is well worth a read. It explores a subject most of us acknowledge is important but then go on to dismiss because “we’re just too busy” – oh the irony of it all.

Time to think.  They say it’s one of the secrets to real success – thinking time.

Of course, it doesn’t happen unless it’s scheduled, because that’s the nature of life.  If you do schedule thinking time though, it’s more likely to happen, and once you’ve adopted it as a habit, you’ll know that you must for your own sake, continue to do it.

My legal colleagues laugh affectionately when we head to London for a Law Society seminar.  They know I go a few hours early, to spend time in the rather auspicious, but more importantly, quiet, Reading Room at the Law Society, Chancery Lane, where some of my best thinking sessions have taken place.  My colleagues continue to work at the office, clocking up as many chargeable hours as possible, before running for the last possible train to get them to the seminar on time.

I can’t blame them.  They have targets to meet.  I only have those targets I set myself, and most of mine are no longer financial.

I find that holidays are great opportunities for thinking time, and on that basis, I go on as many as possible.  The opportunity to eat more natural food (generally we travel to places where food is local rather than imported), enjoy more exercise than the normal office day permits comfortably and the chance to sit and ponder without deadlines other than watching the sun set, is I find, generally a wonderful opportunity to go on a gentle mental journey.

Even when time is short, I still believe thinking time is necessary; I book out an early morning chunk of time at Starbucks.  Forty minutes is enough for me, but a weekend away is a luxury you probably owe yourself and your business.

Had I not spent time cooped up in a villa due to heavy storms in the last week of my holiday, thinking, I would probably not have developed the ideas I have which have enabled me to amplify my business message to a wide range of people.  We all have the thing that drives us; our mission if you will and mine has not been created whilst I’ve been running a busy office and responding to ongoing client needs, but rather when I’ve had time to reflect and here it is: Wills can be simple; probate should be fixed fee. Pretty much sums up my whole business.

What’s your mission I wonder?

If you’d like to read more of Jane’s thoughts why not visit her blog by clicking here.

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

About

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Tagged with:
Posted in Guest

Leave a Reply

Mike Ames

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Like the blog, enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,107 other followers

Visit my website
Flair Coaching Website
Register For My Monthly Newsletter
‘Business Development for Busy People’ Ebook by Mike Ames

Click the image to download a free sample chapter

Blog Archive
Follow me on Twitter
Share this blog
Bookmark and Share
