Prezi: A distinctive alternative to PowerPoint?


Even those people who hate PowerPoint (like me) love it really. I mean come on, it’s so darned easy to knock out a few screens, in fact these days PowerPoint has become synonymous with presentations “How’s your presentation coming along Alice? Oh, I should have the PowerPoint finished by the end of the day”.

But, I have to fess up I have a real problem with it, not as a tool because I think it’s actually an outstanding piece of software, but rather because of how it makes people behave. PowerPoint seems to drain people of their originality and suck the life out of their performance.

The big challenge we all face is that despite Keynote, which is the Apple equivalent, there’s no real alternative. Or is there?

A presentation like you’ve never seen before……..

Allow me to introduce you to Prezi – its a completely different presentation tool that looks different, can be used differently and will certainly make you stand out from the bullet-point-and-diagram crowd. Here’s a Prezi that examines the recent US Election results – despite the subject matter well worth a couple of minutes of your time – US Election Prezi.

For good measure here’s one I prepared earlier on Why Business Development is so Hard – different enough for you?

A good proportion of my job is helping people to stand out and be distinctive well if you’re prepared to invest a little time to become familiar with this alternative to PowerYawn you’ll be sending the needle into the red on your client’s not-the-same-as-all-the-rest-o-meter.

You owe it to yourself to be different.

About

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Communication, Differentiation, Presentation Skills
6 comments on “Prezi: A distinctive alternative to PowerPoint?
  1. I happened across Prezi earlier this year and tested it by preparing a pictorial itinerary for our summer holiday in Scotland. Threaded in a few videos and cartoon cameos. The kids (and wife) loved it! Haven’t, ahem, made a lot of business use of it yet but plan to. It’s an exciting tool unlike, in my personal view, Powerpoint. @legalchap

    • Mike Ames says:

      Thanks for this Michael. I think the key word in your comment is “tested” – if you don’t experiment and play around with these new tools then you won’t move forward. I will always use PowerPoint for it’s ease and power but when I need to stand out from the competition…….

  2. I came across Prezi a couple of years ago after you recommended it. It’s free, easy to use and looks amazing! What more can I say, a brilliant recommendation.

  3. Martin J Bragg says:

    That is a pretty cool piece of kit. I shall be having a okay with as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

Mike Ames

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Like the blog, enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,107 other followers

Visit my website
Flair Coaching Website
Register For My Monthly Newsletter
‘Business Development for Busy People’ Ebook by Mike Ames

Click the image to download a free sample chapter

Blog Archive
Follow me on Twitter
Share this blog
Bookmark and Share
