Fear of Rejection – how to hold yourself back and avoid success.


  • They might say no.
  • Will they think I’m being too forward if I ask?
  • I’ll embarrass myself.
  • It’s all going so well I don’t want to spoil it all by asking for the business.
  • I don’t want to make them cross with me.
  • They’ll ask me (they probably won’t)

The fear of rejection stops us from achieving all that we are capable of and those people who don’t have it fly higher and faster than those that do. If you’re one of the unlucky ones you must do whatever it takes to overcome it.

Here are a few thoughts: –

  • What actual harm will come to me if somebody else says “no”? (clue: none)
  • You can ask too early and you can ask too late but trust your instincts; when it feels right just pop the question.
  • You are in complete control of how you feel. You can only be embarrassed if you allow it. Deal with it.
  • If it’s right then the answer will be “yes”; if it isn’t then “no” is probably the best outcome all round.
  • Statistically a “no” just moves you closer to the next “yes”.

If you fear rejection you will avoid situations where you could be rejected but of course, these are also the situations where progress happens, deals are won and gains are made. 

Over to you then…….

About

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Achievement, Uncategorized
2 comments on “Fear of Rejection – how to hold yourself back and avoid success.
  1. Bernardo says:

    Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for newbie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    • Mike Ames says:

      Hi Bernado. Thanks for your very kind words – much appreciated. I’m not sure I’m qualified to give blogging advice but I would say know what your intended audience finds useful and interesting and then write about it. I would add two other things: brevity is all, we all have a tendency to write too much and make sure you believe what you’re writing – if you don’t your audience will spot it a mile off and they won’t like it.

      Hope this helps and good luck with the blog.

Leave a Reply

Mike Ames

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Like the blog, enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,107 other followers

Visit my website
Flair Coaching Website
Register For My Monthly Newsletter
‘Business Development for Busy People’ Ebook by Mike Ames

Click the image to download a free sample chapter

Blog Archive
Follow me on Twitter
Share this blog
Bookmark and Share
