The absolute rule for perfect networking……


Giving builds networks!

.

The other day I asked somebody to do a favour for me. I wanted an introduction to somebody within his company with whom I could discuss a business idea. He didn’t have to help but he thought about my request; asked a couple of questions and then agreed to do what he could.

Oh you shouldn't have - but I'm so glad you did.

This morning an email arrived in my cc folder. He had located the right person for me to speak to and sent an introductory email suggesting we meet for a coffee.

How do I feel? Pleased, delighted in fact. I also have a strong urge to even up the score – anytime he wants something he only has to ask and if I can pro-actively do anything for him I will. Isn’t this the real way to build a network – by giving?

Of course he could have done what so many other people do: say they will and then instantly put their promise into the “couldn’t care less” drawer or the “I don’t have time for this” locker and move on. But he didn’t and that’s why I’m writing this blog post.

So here’s my take, for what it’s worth: do you want to build a strong network of people who are actively motivated to help you? Well, here are three simple rules: –

  1. Help people whenever you can.
  2. Don’t promise unless you can deliver.
  3. If you can’t do what you’ve said (it happens sometimes) go back and tell them.
[tweetmeme source=”mike_ames_flair” only_single=false]
About

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Differentiation, Real Networking

Leave a Reply

Mike Ames

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Like the blog, enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,107 other followers

Visit my website
Flair Coaching Website
Register For My Monthly Newsletter
‘Business Development for Busy People’ Ebook by Mike Ames

Click the image to download a free sample chapter

Blog Archive
Follow me on Twitter
Share this blog
Bookmark and Share
