Guest blog: Networking on Purpose


This is a guest blog post by Noel Farrelly who one of the few successful and honest financial advisors around. His firm is called Index Wealth Managers and can be found here.

The word networking can mean different things to different people, but most would agree that it includes the art of meeting people in a favourable environment, who might need your services themselves, or who can influence people who might need your services, now or at some point in the future. I have attended many networking events over the years and looking back, it is apparent to me that many were a complete waste of time.  I am no fan of “open” networking events, but prefer to network “on purpose”.

Over 10 years ago, an American networking group, BNI, made a strong and successful push into the UK.  One of the earliest groups in the Midlands was formed in Little Aston and I went along to an initial meeting, at the request of a friend of mine, who is also a client.  Those of you familiar with BNI will know that the object of the exercise is to meet very early in the morning, every week with the object of exchanging referrals with each other; it is run to a system, which includes documenting and tracking all referrals given and received, starting promptly at 7 AM and finishing promptly at 8:30 AM. Only one representative of every business is allowed to be a member, so competition is limited and all meetings are run to an agenda which does not change.

I was invited to be Chairman of the group, a position I accepted, but with misgivings. BNI has a reputation for being more suited to those businesses which find it relatively straightforward to pick up referrals, such as printing, insurance broking and stationery. As Chairman, running each meeting every week, I was very visible and, as a member, I had to stand up every week and spend 1 minute (and no longer) telling 30 other people about my business and my ideal client. Although Chairman is a 6 month stint I spent three years doing the job and, as I expected, I did not acquire many new clients. There were a few however and I also established some excellent supplier relationships which thrive to this day.

This is not a testimonial for BNI, although I believe the discipline and structure they impose are extremely useful. The benefits to me were that I became very practised in describing my business and my ideal client in a short space of time. Last week I received a phone call from a member I hadn’t seen for seven years; he’s selling an asset and will have a considerable sum of money to invest and he wants to see me. The regularity of my stating my case had lodged my name in his mind and even all these years later he remembered me.

BNI is by no means the only way to network on purpose, but it is continuing to work for me.

[tweetmeme source=”mike_ames_flair” only_single=false]

About

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Guest
3 comments on “Guest blog: Networking on Purpose
  1. I agree with the need for focus and discipline, Mike. I have always found BNI too much of a time-consuming proposition, although I have been a member of other networking/business referral organisations and made lasting useful contacts through these.

  2. Mike Ames says:

    Absolutely Steve. Like any collection of people gathered together with the vague whiff of “doing business” in the air it is vital to make sure you are speaking to the right people for you. Shop around until you find an event that suits – it’s worth the effort I think.

  3. Hosk says:

    focus, everyone needs to remind themselves of their goals and how to achieve them. People are constantly being diverted from their goals

Leave a Reply

Mike Ames

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Like the blog, enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,107 other followers

Visit my website
Flair Coaching Website
Register For My Monthly Newsletter
‘Business Development for Busy People’ Ebook by Mike Ames

Click the image to download a free sample chapter

Blog Archive
Follow me on Twitter
Share this blog
Bookmark and Share
