Social Networking


When I started to look at the Internet in a completely new light I wondered if it was any good as a sales or marketing tool. Clearly, if all the rags-to-riches-in-3-months stories are to be believed, it is but the big question for me was “how can I use it to sell my business development coaching services?”

Upon closer inspection it seems that the marketing of products or services through social media channels such as Facebook, YouTube and Twitter is most successful when you are selling to people or companies where you cannot know them by name. You must have a shrewd idea of the general demographics, but it is not possible for you to identify them all by name.

Compare this with professional services offerings where your potential client base may be counted in hundreds or perhaps thousands. In this case there are plenty of ways to identify potential clients and then, by direct or indirect means, ascertaining the name of the buyer of your particular offering. You can still resort to marketing of course, but why bother – just sell to them instead.

So the conclusion I have reached is that because I sell to a specific market of lawyers, accountants, bankers and consultancies, using any social media tool other than LinkedIn is not a prudent use of my selling time. However, if I were selling products say, to the general public, social media would be my channel of choice I feel.

I fully intend to continue with my Twitter activities because it is a great way to communicate ideas, link and introduce others to me and I enjoy it – will it generate any sales? I doubt it.

[tweetmeme source=”mike_ames_flair” only_single=false]

About

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Sales Conversion
One comment on “Social Networking
  1. Basim Mirza says:

    Hey Mike, I actually know people in a similar situation to yours. An example I can give is a fellow that has a well established marketing communications firm. The focus is essentially towards financial advisors, but even other professionals like lawyers, accountants, etc. I don’t think there is a direct effect towards your sales by all means, especially with mass marketing, not really. However, I think there are ways to get the right focus groups. These ways are pretty creative. Sure linked in and such will expand your network, and so will facebook. However, these mediums can be used as tools to promote certain ventures right?

    Why not be involved with, or start ventures that involve and interest this target market? You can use social media to enhance such ventures. And use these ventures to create a COI, this way you’re opening up options for referrals. It would have to be something would be of interest to these professionals, where time is well spent.

Leave a Reply

Mike Ames

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Like the blog, enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,107 other followers

Visit my website
Flair Coaching Website
Register For My Monthly Newsletter
‘Business Development for Busy People’ Ebook by Mike Ames

Click the image to download a free sample chapter

Blog Archive
Follow me on Twitter
Share this blog
Bookmark and Share
