Powerpoint – Less is always more…


I am not really a great PowerPoint man. I’ll have to fess up to using it on my seminars because a) each seminar is different from the last and I can’t remember the order of a whole day’s material and b) some people like to stare at a screen. What I don’t do is have one screen full of bullet points followed by another which I proceed to read out whilst looking at the screen. Uuuggghhhh! Now, I happen to think that PowerPoint has a place in the modern corporate world but it you should not automatically equate “presentation” with  “slides” – all very dull.

How about this then. I recently went to a seminar in London. There were a number of speakers but one of them who spoke for about an hour had 32 slides in his presentation. 32! That’s about one slide every 2 minutes and if you say the average number of points on a screen is 3 that is 40 seconds to make a point and let the audience soak it up. “Danger Will Robinson” on that one. I mean I am sure in his mind he got every point out that he wanted to but did we, the audience, get them all? I think not, in fact I am not quite sure what he did say now I come to think of it and I bet that is not the result he wanted.

If you are going to use PowerPoint I think it is hard to suggest an average-slides-per-hour rate but I am doing a gig next week with is an all day affair and it has 35 actual screens in it and I am thinking that’s too many – I reckon I can get it down below the 30. I am led to believe that presentations are like make-up; less is more.

[tweetmeme source=”mike_ames_flair” only_single=false]

About

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Presentation Skills
One comment on “Powerpoint – Less is always more…
  1. Karen Quinton says:

    Yes, but, no but … powerpoint could be long, but interesting. Look at this post by Seth Godin: http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2010/07/the-200-slide-solution.html
    Or, check out the ace presentation on social media at: http://www.slideshare.net/mzkagan/what-the-fk-is-social-media-one-year-later
    If you’re dull, so will your powerpoints be. Let your personality out!

Leave a Reply

Mike Ames

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Like the blog, enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,107 other followers

Visit my website
Flair Coaching Website
Register For My Monthly Newsletter
‘Business Development for Busy People’ Ebook by Mike Ames

Click the image to download a free sample chapter

Blog Archive
Follow me on Twitter
Share this blog
Bookmark and Share
