Is it really worth having a mentor?


The Late, and very Great Mike Sparkes

The Late, and very Great Mike Sparkes

Short answer is yes, but here’s a slightly longer one.

My first mentor was Mike Sparkes who started as my agent when I was freelance but ended up my friend and business partner before his untimely death aged 38.

During the time I knew him this is what he gave me: -

  • Inspiration: I couldn’t wait to be with him because of how he made me feel
  • Knowledge: he knew more then than I know now and he was utterly selfless in sharing what he knew with me and with others.
  • Experience: he liked me to have a go and was OK with me failing provided I learned from the experience.
  • Challenge: he wasn’t a great believer in comfort zones and the status quo. Always pushing and helping me realise my potential.
  • Confidence: he always believed in me and was never shaken by my many catastrophes.
  • Support: especially in the early days he was always there for me particularly when my confidence was low.
  • Motivation: I just wanted to do more for him.
  • Friendship: not really a prerequisite for a mentor but he gave me his anyway.

Since then I have had many mentors and each has provided one or more of the above. I have no doubt that a great deal of my success in business stems from the contribution these men and women made to my development over the years. Even better than that it hasn’t cost me a penny.

I hope I have repaid my debts down the line though (but you’d have to ask those I have tried to mentor of course) and I will continue to do so. I think it’s as important to give as it is to receive - be generous with what you know.

My advice then: if you don’t have a mentor seek one out that you can trust and who can help you become what you are capable of being. You won’t regret it and it will make a big difference to how successful you will be.

Why do it all yourself when there’s an easier way.

About

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Inspiration, Personal development
7 comments on “Is it really worth having a mentor?
  1. Emma Dredge says:

    I enjoyed reading this Mike, you were a mentor to me for over 9 years and still help and advise when you can. I have also recently took the step of signing up for a business coach and hoping this will fill the gap left by leaving full time employment and the mentors I had grown to love.

  2. Richard Raybould says:

    Good short review of what a quality mentor relationship provides. I think I will try and instigate the old Flair Buddy system at my company and start to get some mentoring going.

  3. [...] Is it really worth having a mentor? (mikeames.wordpress.com) [...]

  4. Helen Thomson says:

    This is a really interesting article. The Law Society have set up a women lawyers division mentoring scheme which I was reading about only yesterday. Your article has made me think that maybe I should give this topic more thought. Thanks for sharing.

    • Mike Ames says:

      I can’t rave enough about the value of a good mentor or two Helen. I still have them now and get nothing but value from them. I’d love to hear how you get on with the Law Society group – well worth a go in my humble.

Leave a Reply

Mike Ames

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Like the blog, enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,300 other followers

Visit my website
Flair Coaching Website
Register For My Monthly Newsletter
‘Business Development for Busy People’ Ebook by Mike Ames

Click the image to download a free sample chapter

Blog Archive
Follow me on Twitter
Share this blog
Bookmark and Share
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,300 other followers

