Top 5 reasons why lawyers don’t like the “S” word?


Let me start by saying not all lawyers hate doing the “S” word. There are quite a few that I know who would prefer to do nothing but sales especially if meant getting away from all that tiresome law stuff and those impossibly demanding client-types.

But, whilst business development is an acceptable alternative phrase for sales (but not real work apparently) actually getting down to doing it is not top of the to-do list for most lawyers, but why?

Based upon my own coffee-house investigations (OK some of them weren’t carried out in coffee houses) these are my top 5: -

  1. It takes too long – I just don’t have the time to fit it in.
  2. It’s not my job – that’s what marketing are employed to do isn’t it?
  3. The law is more interesting – it’s what I was trained for and it’s what I want to do.
  4. I’m not sure what to do – I’ve had no real training or guidance.
  5. It’s just a bit grubby – I’m a professional not a used-car salesman.

I’m not sure how close this to your own beliefs but they did crop up fairly consistently. By way of a response I would say: -

  • It is your job and is going to grow in importance. Accept it and move on.
  • Sales is what makes the world go around – nothing happens until somebody sells something. If it helps consider yourself to be more of a facilitator.
  • Like most things you can do it in a highly professional or decidedly sleazy way. You choose.
  • Once you have been trained it is easy and does not really take a lot of time.
  • It can actually be great fun, satisfying and very financially rewarding.

I’m not a lawyer but I believe in the future the lawyers who get on most won’t necessarily be great at the law but they will be great at sales.

About

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Business Development, Sales, Uncategorized
2 comments on “Top 5 reasons why lawyers don’t like the “S” word?
  1. Nice post. I’d say number 4 was a key reason. The other I’d add is that the hours spent doing it don’t count as much as “chargeable hours” and so there is often not enough recognition & reward associated with it. Maister wrote about this challenge years ago, but still the hourly rate model causes problems!

    • Mike Ames says:

      I think you are absolutely right – they just don’t see it as real work because it’s not chargeable and therefore not top priority. Regrettable but there you have it.

Leave a Reply

Mike Ames

Passionate about making business development a profession not just a job. Built and sold a £40m group in less than 9 years. Doing it all again and loving it!

Like the blog, enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,300 other followers

Visit my website
Flair Coaching Website
Register For My Monthly Newsletter
‘Business Development for Busy People’ Ebook by Mike Ames

Click the image to download a free sample chapter

Blog Archive
Follow me on Twitter
Share this blog
Bookmark and Share
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,300 other followers

